PI-1206 Homeschool Enrollment Report (HOMER) 2018-2019

Wisconsin State Laws Regarding Homeschooling


What is a home-based private educational program?

  • Under Wisconsin Statute 118.15(4), a parent or guardian has the right to select a home-based private educational program, commonly referred to as homeschooling, for his or her child or children, in order to comply with the compulsory school attendance law. If this option is chosen, the parent or guardian is required to complete the online PI-1206 Homeschool Enrollment Report (HOMER).

  • Wisconsin Statute 115.001(3g) states, "Home-based private educational program means a program of educational instruction provided to a child by the child's parent or guardian or by a person designated by the parent or guardian. An instructional program provided to more than one family unit does not constitute a home-based private educational program."

  • Under Wisconsin Statute 118.15(1)(a), the compulsory school attendance law, "… any person having under control a child who is between the ages of 6 and 18 years shall cause the child to attend school regularly during the full period and hours, religious holidays excepted, that the public or private school in which the child should be enrolled is in session until the end of the school term, quarter or semester of the school year in which the child becomes 18 years of age."

  • Wisconsin Statute 118.15(4) states, "Instruction in a home-based private educational program that meets all of the criteria under s. 118.165(1) may be substituted for attendance at a public or private school."

  • Wisconsin Statute 118.165(1) specifies that a home-based private educational program must provide "… at least 875 hours of instruction each school year." In addition, the program must provide a "… sequentially progressive curriculum of fundamental instruction in reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, science and health." The statutes contain no express authority for any agency or school district to monitor home-based private educational programs or to verify the hours of instruction provided or the use of a sequential curriculum.

  • Wisconsin Statute 118.165(1)(e) states that a home-based private educational program must not be "… operated or instituted for the purpose of avoiding or circumventing the compulsory school attendance requirement under s. 118.15(1)(a)."

Contact Us

If you have questions about the Homeschool Enrollment Report (HOMER), please contact Diane Sullivan at (608) 267-9248 or toll-free at (888) 245-2732, extension 1, or send an email to Homeschooling@dpi.wi.gov.

Go to Top